Bobkat

First Chuck Roll...Did something wrong

16# Of Chuck met the KK over the weekend. Looked great, but came out kinda dry :oops: . Cooked at 210 for the first 23 hrs. (btw J - that Guru is da BOMB...kept the KK within 2 degrees the ENTIRE time and I slept like a baby :D ) then it seemed to get stuck at about 174 degrees and my family and friends were getting hungry. So I told the Guru to take her up to about 240 for another couple of hours. Best I could get the meat temp to get to was 183 or 4 (shooting for 190) and at that point I HAD to take it off the cooker or risk divorce. The meat was cooked through & taste was good but honestly rather dry. What did I do wrong guys? :(

1stChuckRoll.jpg

1stChuckRubbed_n_ready.jpg

1stChuckontheKK.jpg

1stChuckwithGuru.jpg

Re: First Chuck Roll...Did something wrong

Cooked at 210 for the first 23 hrs. (btw J -

I am by no means an expert, but my guess would be too low, too slow. I don't recall the details, but I think I cooked mine at less than half that time and it came out perfect. I think I cooked at 300ish, too. Now I'm going to have to go and check my old posts.

;)

EDIT: Alright, I went and looked at my original post. On the Chuckwagon

I did mine at 350F for 7 or so hours. Yes, I suck at low and slow. But it worked for me. It was fabulous.

:roll:

well, not an expert on the chuck roll specifically, but, i would probably disagree with mike. the old rule of thumb with brisket (which is similar in makeup to the chuck roll) is, if its dry, or tough, you didn't cook it long enough. like i said, rule of thumb. i've only done 1 chuck roll, so hard to say. here's why i hold the opinion...

(edit: this is not to say that i disagree with the results mike got on his original cook; whatever works. what i disagree with was the remark on "too low too long"... pray continue...)