trudeto

Another newby joins the club

OK all, i feel a bit like a voyeur as I have been visiting the forum for several months now without you all knowing it!! When Dennis offered his Gen II with free shipping, that pushed me over the edge, and i just took delivery on an Ultimate Dark Terra Blue with Dark Charcoal grout. It is pouring down rain here in Southern Md, and has been for the last 2 days, but i finally lit it off this afternoon. I was doing a dress rehearsal for my first cook. I was able to get the temps stabilized around 225-250 deg, and decided to go ahead and try my 1st butt. I started it about 1130PM, and now temps have been all over the place!! Waiting to see where it stabilizes, so I can go to bed.

BTW, i know the requirement for pic's!! Will get some out once it quits raining, and I can get my KK to its new home. The garage ain't it!! Tom

little adjustments and wait.

I was able to get the temps stabilized around 225-250 deg, and decided to go ahead and try my 1st butt. I started it about 1130PM, and now temps have been all over the place!! Waiting to see where it stabilizes, so I can go to bed.

Tom

Welcome to the forum Tom..

Remember that the temperature will climb after the walls come to temperature and start giving off heat. (get heat soaked)

At this point you need restrict the volume of air/oxygen to reduce the amount of charcoal burning.

Best to baffle airflow from the top as you want to keep the high humidity and heat in.

Also remember that when you open the dome (to add your meat) after you have stabilized temps, the rush of oxygen will cause your temps to climb (charcoal to burn faster). Don't immediately change your settings.. It will go back to where it was and remember to make little adjustments and wait.

;);););)