Syzygies

Fermenting Hot Sauce

6449_140507619975_588449975_3394421_4568411_n.jpg

That looks like hot sauce, Syzy.

:lol:

What was your recipe/technique?

Yup. I've been making around 3 gallons a year for friends, for the past five years. I don't make beer, wine, anchovies, you name it because I can buy better. The uniform position of my friends is to remind me that we can't buy better hot sauce, and the new season is upon us, have I started yet?

I read up on classic hot sauce fermentation (pack pepper mash and salt into an oak barrel for three years, trim off the black, add vinegar), and tried to figure out how to modernize in small batches. My goal is no artifice, the straightest line from A to B, a recipe anyone would discover coming at the same problem. (As in, if you feel the temptation to add your special mark, just don't! One is aiming for a classic.)

We live near a national beer-making supply outlet (http://morebeer.com/), so it's easy to buy carboys, fermentation locks, cleaners and pH equipment. I have a commercial blender (the Vita-Prep) which undoubtedly makes working with the pepper mash easier, but isn't essential. The key is to recognize that a quick ferment (a month or two) is the same kind of process as making sauerkraut or kimchi. If one can find either that hasn't been preserved or sterilized, the juice makes a perfect starter. Fermenting is key; I've tried both ways, and skipping the fermentation just isn't in the same league.

One risk in home fermentation of vegetables is botulism, which doesn't survive below a pH of 4.6, while the fermentation drives the pH well below this point. pH meters cost $80 and need maintenance more than once a year (replace saline storage solution around probe) to survive several seasons, but provide assurance one isn't about to bump off one's friends. Other than this, we don't sterilize the finished product, preferring the uncooked taste, and haven't had a problem.