Porkchop

Mixed Grill last night! (sorry, no pics...)

had the night off from job 2 last night so i decided to load up kong. filled a chimney with cowboy lump, plus another chimney raw in the lumpsaver. got the coals going and took the tinfoil off of the upper stack and opened the lower draft a couple inches.

when the cooker reached 250, i threw cherry chips on the coals and i put the following on DIRECT:

6 1/2# burgers made the way my wife likes: hidden valley ranch mexican

5 fresh brats

7 boneless skinless chicken breasts

chicken was liberally seasoned with Tony Chacere's cajun rub. funny thing; i've never used pre-mixed rubs before i started coming to this forum. i REALLY liked the TC cajun; a bit salty but with a really nice kick. anyway, chicken breasts and brats on the top grill, burgers on the main. flipped the burgers after like 10 min, and then the chicken and brats. after the second flip on the burgers (they were very close to done), i just put them on top of the food on the top grill, cause the brats and chickens weren't getting the full benefit of the direct heat with the burgers in the way.

i've had pretty good success with this style of grilling; that is, before you get all the way up to temp, you throw on smoke wood and let the food absorb smoke while the cooker comes up to grilling temps. i ended up grilling at about 400 direct. the brats were BEEE-utiful; golden brown and crusty, yet juicy and smoky. the burgers also great, well done and juicy (i added rooster sauce along with the HVR powder), and the chicken breasts were juicy and HOT! yummy all!

can't wait til i get my KK so's i can stop fiddling with tinfoil when i want to cook. i'm putting off another pulled pork cook til i get larry!

Re: Mixed Grill last night! (sorry, no pics...)