Cookie

In Search of the Holy Grail - Super Clean Smoke

Here I am on a Friday night waiting for guests to arrive. Cold beverage in hand and I've been playing with the dampers on my new 21". I'm using KK extruded for heat and peach wood for smoke (ribs). Temp floating around 240F.

When I added two good size peach chunks, I got the billowy white smoke we don't want. Then I started playing with the dampers. The beauty of this new dual damper is you can go with a really small opening on the bottom. This allowed me to open up the top a full two turns and I'm still hovering around at 240. When I did this, the smoke really started streaming and went from white to light, but still looked a little dirty. Now I'm barely seeing any smoke and wondering if im really running that clean holy grail smoke, or if my chunks have burned up altogether.

I'm not willing to open the lid as I'm on a timeline, but look forward to checking the basket when finished to see if my peach chunks are still burning. Will report back.

post-522-0-63377500-1435316771_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

You've seen a manual with the new dual damper or you mean the one for the single bottom damper? Can you send me a pic? With the single bottom damper, even a small crack open is a small crack open in 3 places and a lot more than what you can do with the new one. Please share if you have a diagram for the new one?

You've seen a manual with the new dual damper or you mean the one for the single bottom damper? Can you send me a pic? With the single bottom damper, even a small crack open is a small crack open in 3 places and a lot more than what you can do with the new one. Please share if you have a diagram for the new one?

You're correct, I haven't seen a diagram on the dual set up, but I think the principal is the same. I believe that as long as you can maintain your desired temp, closed bottom, open top, less smoke.

Robert