Lannoos

Best way to Heat Soak for Low n Slow

Hi all,

Again, as a newbie I have a lot to learn, but I've been cooking' up a storm.  I've really never had so much fun cooking in my life (and I've spent most of my life cooking...!)

I've done Bread, Pizza, Steaks (reverse sear is a dream on a 2" Ribeye), Brisket, chicken and the list goes on....  What a joy to cook on a KK!

So that brings me back to the point.  Low n Slow, What's the best way to heat a KK and keep it where you want it?

I've tried a couple of different methods and I'm interested in the methods others use to maintain what I consider very low temps (<230F) in the KK using a heat deflector.

I've used the following techniques with varying degrees of success:

1. Light a full basket of coco charcoal, install my deflector and wait for the KK to come up to temp.  This seems to take a long time and also forces the KK to burn hotter longer to reach my target temp.  I believe that so much heat is trapped by the deflector that by the time the dome temp gets where I want it, there is too much fire in the bottom of the cooker to properly maintain the cooking temp desired (200F?). I find myself fighting the temp for the balance of the cook.
  2. Light a full basket of coco charcoal and leave all the deflector/drip pans, grills out of the cooker.  Allow the cooker to come up to dome temp and stabilize for some period of time.  Then open the KK lid and build the environment for the Low N Slow cook.  This tends to give me a smaller burn in the bottom of the cooker and allows me to better regulate the cook temps for a longer period of time without overshooting.  It takes a little while after the environment is installed in the cooker to return to temp, but not nearly as long as building a small fire and waiting for the temp to come up in an ambient temp KK.

I would be interested in how others attain and maintain low n slow temps for their briskets and butts.  

Thanks in advance for your help!