bosco

Wow!!

So I am cooking in about 2 hours so I figured I would get going on heating my 23 up. I assumed with the mass that I would need to really let it heat up for a while to get to temp.

I set the bottom left damper 180 degrees open and turned the top open 3 spins.

In 10 min (lighting in two places) I reached 310 degrees.

I just adjusted the vents as I will try and find a happy place for 375.

I am in shock!!!!!!! My jr. Doesn't even heat up that quick

Yep, Bosco, you're going to have to re-learn some things with the KK - air flow control is the biggest and most important. I've owned mine for several years now and don't consider myself as having mastered it. Ambient temps, windy conditions, rain, all impact it. It's almost an organic thing. You have to feel your way through it. I'm an Engineer, so while I'm used to empirical solutions, I'd rather have hard rules/conditions to guide me. Probably why I decided to swap out my original draft vent door (single dial), with the new dual dial system. Still don't have the hang of this dang thing yet - frustrating at times! So, what I'm saying buddy, is hang in there. Practice makes .... is so true of learning to cook on the KK.  

I can routinely get Smaug from unlit to 600ºF in 15 minutes or less. What you’re seeing is the increased efficiency of a KK grill compared to your KJ grills in action. ^_^

If you need to heat soak, you will have to wait longer than you’re used to as well. For low and slow cooks, or indirect cooks like duck at 375ºF, I’ll let Smaug go for an hour.

You will also probably need to get used to smaller vent settings than you’re used to as well. These vent settings might seem ridiculously small — for low and slows, I’ll have the bottom vent open only 1/8†or so for a target temperature of 200-250ºF. But they work. Again, that’s the KK grill’s efficiency in action.

For future reference, here’s what I do to get Smaug to a given setting.