Rick W.

Automated Temp Control

Hello all - I am a new member here, expecting my Ultimate 23" KK next week.  I am totally new to Kamado cooking and after seeing all the incredible posts here, very excited about "getting back to primal"!

I am looking into accessories (just ordered a Looftlighter) and wondering if anyone here has experience with or opinion of the CyberQ wifi temperature control unit from BBQGuru.  Is this overkill or a worthwhile investment (or both :) ?  I expect I will first learn how to control manually, but just thinking ahead.

Also, any advice on first burn in?  Or just light her up and go.

Thanks and looking forward to many years of great cooks!

Rick

Welcome Rick and congratulations on the KK!

I have had my 23" for about 3 weeks now and love it!  Please take lots of pictures of the delivery and unboxing!

Also, the first burn in had me anxious...but its really not a big deal at all!  follow the instructions and you'll be fine!  As always, Dennis is available to answer your questions, but as someone that just went through it, I can honestly say, don't over think it and make sure you don't waste that good heat!  Steaks would be nice first meal off the KK ;)

I don't use a controller, but then again I don't do many long cooks where I'm not around.  

Welcome and congrats on the purchase.  

Lets start with the controller.  Do you need one???  No absolutely not.  The Komodo Kamado is the most rock solid and responsive charcoal BBQ that I have ever used.  I have gone from gas bbq, to weber kettle and WSM, then to various Kamado Joes.... and now the holy grail!!!  I applaud you for jumping in with both feet right off the hop, it will save you money in the long run.

Ok back to the controller.  Because the KK is so stable, you really can set it and forget it.  When I switched to ceramics a few years ago, I really had no need for a controller.  You will learn how to control the vents over time and really not need it.....