paul1927

Cast Iron -moved from Happy Campers

Hi Porkchop,

I was hoping that the new preseasoned cast iron by lodge would solve the rust problem. :) I never thought of cast iron as being dangerous even if there were air bubbles, but then again I wouldn't have imagined 2 gallons of water in Komodo either!

I got the idea that cast iron was the greatest from a book titled The Great American Barbecue & Grilling Manual as well as from ancient memories from my childhood. I'm NOT an expert on cooking . . . and the gentleman who wrote the book may be dead wrong. He places a considerable emphasis on mass and fast heat transfer--for grilling. Cast iron definitely has the mass, but I wonder if it is much better than a heavy duty stainless steel grill.

Even though I'm NOT an expert the ribs I make on the Komodo are even better than I was dreaming about. It is difficult to get good barbecue here in Miami or at least it is difficult to get what I like. The 2 best places were Sonny's and Rubinos (sp?) both of which have closed -- at least their locations near me have closed. Shorties is another barbecue place, but their style isn't what I drool over and at one of their locations the food is just plain bad--latin influence?

Paul

problem with air bubbles in cast iron; cast iron is not as porous as the KK, so you heat it, air expands, and cast iron goes bang. wouldn't imagine it'd be a real problem with lodge stuff tho; they are quality.

as far as seasoning cast iron goes, i tried seasoning my grates, and they were fine until i would grill on them. the high temps would cause the seasoning to peel off the grates, and i'd have to reseason.

you're doing the right thing just getting a lodge skillet or griddle and skipping the grates, thermal mass and heat transfer issues aside. upkeep on cast iron grates are a pain!

Cast Iron