kerry_sf

charcoal question

Hi there, I'm relatively new to the KK and was wondering if there is anyone who might have a recommendation about what seems to me to be an overly smoky flavor. Part of the problem is that I'm a pescetarian (veggie + fish), and don't eat any of the meat that reflects this flavor well.

Another problem is that I bought 80 lbs of Lazarri mesquite instead of hardwood lump on the last trip. I'm sure this imparts even more smoke flavor, but I still feel the hardwood overpowered even our pizzas, let alone the fish. (And the mesquite isn't a subtle smoke flavor at all.)

I had the most amazing black cod ever cooked in a ceramic cooker, so I know I should be able to make something similarly non-smoky tasting.

Could it just be the Lazarri brand has a strong profile?

I was also thinking that maybe just using approximately the amount of charcoal needed (we always top off the basket to begin) might help.

I haven't tried extruded coconut charcoal yet, but that seems like overkill for everyday cooking.

Any thoughts?

Cheers,

Kerry

Mesquite has a very pronounced flavor that is imparted to anything that is grilled over it. Check out the Naked Whiz's website( Nakedwhiz.com ) for an in depth review of most charcoal varieties. Try using another natural lump charcoal, the flavor should be that of cooking over an open campfire. Good luck.

Mesquite has a very pronounced flavor that is imparted to anything that is grilled over it. Check out the Naked Whiz's website( Nakedwhiz) for an in depth review of most charcoal varieties. Try using another natural lump charcoal' date=' the flavor should be that of cooking over an open campfire. Good luck.[/quote']