ejl

first cook ever

While I'm an okay cook and a minor league foodie, I'm a complete newbie to this culinary world. After doing some research, going through various forums, trading a few emails and talking to Dennis, I decided to take the plunge on a Komodo (with my wife's permission, of course). I'm anxiously awaiting my dark blue-tiled deluxe OTB; it should be here in just a couple of hours give or take...

As there isn't a Komodo Cooking for Dummies book out yet, I thought I'd ask some of you folks what you'd recommend for a relatively easy first time cook for a first time cook.

Also, Dennis suggested a low and slow of at least six hours to break it in (correct me if I'm wrong, Dennis). Is there anything else I should do before firing it up, please let me know.

thanks.

ejl

for a 6 hr low and slow, i'd do spare ribs! i bet you can find a decent dry-rub somewhere, or make your own. if you're a n00b, get your spares pretrimmed and skinned, otherwise, packer trim cryovacd and trim yourself.

rub down, and add some extra brown or turbinado sugar, put on the KK at +/- 250 for all that 6 hours, maybe more. twist a bone near the end of the cook. if it starts to turn real easy, ring the dinner bell.

do i need to state: no kingsford/briquettes? stick with lump/natural charcoal, and throw some hickory chunks/chips on a few minutes before the ribs.

finish with chef juke's rasp/chip sauce mentioned below:

http://www.komodokamado.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=75

needed some editing: i forgot to mention; times and temps on these ribs are for an "indirect" setup. if you would like to mix your own dry rub, here's something that'll give you a little start on it:

http://www.porkchopbbq.com/dryrub101.html

first cook ever

Gentlemen, thanks for the suggestions.