tnt

Smoke how do you control it

The question is smoke and how much is too much... I had a complaint that the first (and only) batch of ribs I made had too much smoke.. My son (who I love temporarily) says that the smoke flavor over powered the rest of the rib flavor.

The smoke flavor did seem to be a bit much especially if I tried cooking fish or some other light flavored food. So I'm wondering if there is a way to control it..

Now remember I'm new to this so you need to answer using small words and talk slowly..

Someone told me to wait about 20 min after lighting the grill to put the food on is there anything to this ??

Does the brand of lump make a difference, I used Lazzari hardwood lump not the Mesquite.

I did notice smoke coming out from the bottom of the lid in the back right side is that normal or do I have something wrong ??

Anyone out there with a suggestion or opinion?? All help is greatly appreciated..

tnt,

Did you use any additional smoke wood? If you did NOT and the smoke was too much I don't know what to tell you. Maybe you could try some plain briquettes.

If you did, you can always reduce the amount of wood you add, I have not had any problem with too much smoke, however I understand that it is a personal preference.

Give a little more detail on what you used for cooks you had too much smoke.

Too much smoke on ribs, with just lump sounds unheard of. Yes, lump imparts some smoky flavor as it burns, and this can be lessened (especially on higher temp cooks) by letting the fire have a few minutes to get up to temp and ignite all the fuel before adding meat.

On your ribs, they likely spend 4-6 hours on the grate, and the lump was burning slowly the whole time? Many people, myself included, add several fist sized chunks of fruit wood into the lump basket in order to HAVE some smoke flavor, otherwise they seem lacking.