seanwiley

"Quick Dry" Brisket

I've done 3 briskets on the Komodo which have come out great - tender, nice smoke ring, nice bark, flavorful and seem very moist.... up until the time I slice and serve. In the minutes between moving from cutting board to table it seems the individual slices dry out a lot compared to a roast, for instance.

Any suggestions on this? I am wondering if I am not letting it rest enough before I slice it. For instance, last night I was running behind schedule and I let it rest for only about 30 minutes after I pulled it off the cooker.

Actually, I did try that method this weekend, along with the Coffee / Cardamon rub. In was kind of impromtu as I'd had a long night at the House of Blues and didn't wake up till 11:00 in the morning. So.... seemed like the right time to try the high temp method.

It was great when I sampled it. But still didn't really stay moist when served. Am bummed...

What cooking method are you using? Yea right, like I'm an expert or something.....

Direct or Indirect? I use indirect.

Hopefully someone who knows will answer.

Could be I finally got lucky; I've only used the weber method once. Was also my first time not selecting the brisket myself!!! SAM's didn't have full packer cuts on display, so I asked the butcher, he brought one up from the back. I accepted it.

In the past I look/feel for floppy brisket, left side, etc.

try this