yeehaaa

Must have accessories-Need help?

Folks,

I'm a relative newbie to this site. But, I have concluded that I NEEEED a KK in my life.....I'm Qing chicken on a Weber kettle as I speak.....

I have gone through a bunch of forums and the result is confusion (probably an age thing since retirement is around the corner). I need some help in sorting out what accessories to get with the KK.

What are:

> must haves?

> nice to have?

I thought I knew the color I wanted until Dennis posted pics of the newest shipment. Boy, oh, boy....green, cobalt blue, terra cotta.....?????

Thanks for the help!

Careful if you decide on a pink one. Or one that looks pinkish if the light is low and you are squinting through a beer bottle. And beware of mustard, too. Not that either is a bad color. Just you'll suffer immeasurable personal abuse from some on this site if you pick one of those. :smt021

My ceramic cooker is cobalt blue tile. Dennis posted photos that were just lovely!! That wedgewood blue textured is a drooler, too, IMHO.

Accessories you 'need'? ALL of them!!! :D Stainless steel bands are good. Deflector, upper grill (doubles as sear grill), gas (to light the coals, although there are other ways to do it). Guru port (it's closed up, which allows you to choose whether you want to get a Guru later, or not). Dunno if Dennis has a meat hanger, but most would probably say don't bother with that one. I think it comes with the holes for an EZ Que rotiss, so you can get the rotiss. from EZ Que later. Those with it can tell better than I if there are "Dennis" parts to order for the rotiss.

Make a shopping list, and add it all up. When you regain consciousness, start deciding if you can cut anywhere. For example, textured will cook just as well as tiled, and look wonderful, and you can use the money you save to get accessories. :)

Most important, have FUN!! :smt031

Stainless steel bands are good.

What Bands? The BEST ceramic cookers dont have bands! :shock: