Theo Lotz

Basic Temperature questions

Ok, I'm very new to this, so a basic Komodo-ing 101 question: How do you get the temperature up high? High enough to sear? I get "low and slow," but CAN I do "hot and fast" on the K/K if I want to? I cant seem to get the temperature hot enough to hear the sizzle of the meat laying on the grill. Even when I've got both top and bottom dampers open all the way.

I'm coming to this with old gas grill habits. And old habits die hard.

hey theo! are you keeping the dome down while you sear your steak? what temps are your temp guage reading? how much lump do you have in the KK when grilling? very high temps require lots of burning fuel as well as airflow. are you doing this direct, or using the pizza stone as a heat deflector?

post details of your setup here, or email me! you should be able to get dangerously high temps on this thing no problem.

On the bottom vent, are you sliding out the stainless steel plate or just turning the little black knob to open the 2 little windows? The black knob is to control the low airflow. For high temp you slide the steel plate out for more airflow. Dennis told me when you slide the steel plate out to get higher temps you can immediately see a reaction on the temp gauge.

Fuel... and more fuel...

My early problems were that I only put in the charcoal that I thought the cook required... Wrong!

Put in way more and then a little.. remember that the burn is controlled by the airflow and when your finished you can shut it down and use the charcoals for next time.. A huge mountain of red roaring coals can be killed in a few minutes if you starve it of air.

So filler up, give her air and watch the temps climb..

PS if you want to sear in the nasty off the chart temps put a small grill down on top of your charcoal bowl.. maybe 15 sec per side, use your welding gloves when working down there near Dante's inferno!