talisker63

Set up help

Ok, brand new KK and a LOT of grills and racks and stones etc.

Help!

I want to slow cook some lamb shoulder - should take about 6-7 hrs at 225F indirect

I have the basket filled with charcoal - check

Then what goes on next in regards to the racks and baskets and heat deflectors etc

And what rack does the actual meat go on.

Sorry to sound really dumb but I have never done this style of BBQ ever before,down here we traditionally direct grill everything.

What I am looking for is a basic set up instructions for the multitude of grills etc,

Thanks

Re: Set up help

Appears to be a basic indirect cook.

I usually setup as follows...

>Charcoal basket

>Heat deflector stone on top of the handles

>Drip pan lined with foil on top of the heat deflector.

>Main grill in.

>Heat soak everything to desired temp.

If you want to add smoke wood, once it is heat soaked:

Rremove everything

>Drop in smoke wood chunks

>Put everything back in the order stated above

>Let smoke turn from dark gray to almost trasnparent

Put meat on.

Wait.