Izzy

Through serendipity, I stumbled into the KK 32

I'm fairly new to grilling.  It all started a little over a year ago when I was invited to a colleague's house to celebrate his 40th birthday.  As he was giving me a tour of his house, he took me to his backyard to show me his baby.  There it was A BIG Green  thing which I had never seen before.  He said it was a grill which he and his wife frequently use to make the most delicious dishes.  He gave me an overview of ceramic grills in general and I was very impressed.  When I came home, I told my wife about it and I could begin to see the light of redemption at the end of the tunnel.  Redemption?  Well, let's say 4 years ago, I purchased a charcoal grill/smoker from Lowes for about $400 and two weeks later decided to invite a few friends and relatives to come eat some of my ribs, which, by the way, I was going to try for the very first time.  I purchased 9 slabs of St. Louis ribs AND I burned them all!  It was a total disaster!  So, when I saw that big green thing at my colleague's and heard all the wonderful things about, I thought that was going the grill for me.  So, I did a little bit of research and in the end, I opted for this extra large black oval thing and suddenly, I was on prime time!  After some Youtube videos on how to cook the best ribs on that black oval thing, I decided to cook some ribs.  My goodness!  They turned out to be totally amazing.  Some folks even said they were the best ribs they had ever had.  I, now, have been grilling on my oval for about  a year and I love it!  So, why was I recently looking for a new grill?  My wife and I are throwing our son a birthday party at the end of June and the plan was to have everything catered, but three weeks ago, my wife changed her mind, which she has a right to, and instead wanted us to cook for 100+ people.  She said we could invest in another grill and so, I decided to do some research.   As great as my oval is, I wanted to try something different.